Share

AND THEN THERE WERE EIGHT…

QUARTER FINALISTS SET IN OPEN DIVISION;
SENIOR SEMIFINALS LAUNCH THURSDAY’S FINALE

MESQUITE, NEVADA (October 24, 2012) – Eight Open Division competitors, including recent 2012 LDA Tour Championship winner Tim Burke, remain in the race for power golf’s top prize at the 2012 RE/MAX World Long Drive Championship Powered By Dick’s Sporting Goods.
Advancing along with Burke to Thursday afternoon’s Open Division quarterfinals at Mesquite Sports and Event Complex are two-time RE/MAX world champion Jamie Sadlowski and 2011 LDA Tour leading money winner Landon Gentry.

Rounding out the Open Division quarterfinals are: Josh Crews, Ryan Winther, Justin Young, Ryan Cooper and Tom Peppard.
Each is seeking a $150,000 first prize, RE/MAX WLDC crystal trophy and bragging rights as the longest golfer on the planet.

Thursday’s championship card begins with the Senior Division semifinals. The first match, a battle of former RE/MAX world champions, pits 2012 LDA Hall of Fame inductee Frank Miller, the fourth seed, against top-seeded George Slupski.

Miller won the RE/MAX Senior Division title in 2007; Slupski followed suit in 2010.

In the second Senior Division semifinal, second-seeded Eric Houballah of France faces third-seeded Eric Lastowka. Each is seeking his first RE/MAX world title and looking to become the first Eric to capture the RE/MAX senior title since Eric Jones in 2003.

Live coverage from Mesquite will air on ESPN3.com beginning at 5pm Eastern, 4pm Central, 3pm Mountain and 2pm Pacific.

RE/MAX WLDC OPEN DIVISION QUARTER FINALISTS:
(Residence, qualifying distance,
driver head and shaft)

Tim Burke - Washington, DC – 430 yards | Krank / Fujikura
Josh Crews - Willis, Tex. – 400 yards, 19" | Geek / HOF
Ryan Cooper - Lynnwood, Wash. – 405 yards | Geek / HOF
Landon Gentry - Jacksonville, Fla. – 400 yards, 20" | Krank / HOF
Tom Peppard - Canton, Ohio – 400 yards, 27" | Acropolis Ares / Black ops
Jamie Sadlowski - St. Paul, Alberta – 400 yards, 12" | Adams / HOF
Ryan Winther - Sacramento, Calif. - 397 yards | Krank / HOF
Justin Young - Mount Airy, N.Car. – 406 yards | Geek / HOF

RE/MAX WLDC SENIOR DIVISION SEMIFINALISTS
(residence, qualifying distance)

Eric Houballah - Rennes, France – 409 yards
Eric Lastowka - Hanover, Mass – 403 yards
Frank Miller - Laguna Beach, CA – 392 yards
George Slupski - Boynton Beach, FL – 423 yards

-30-

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT:
Steve Wiley (817) 205-6312